a2
parata
1/5

Ajaccio


On August 15, 1769, Napoléon was born in Ajaccio. Whoever becomes emperor is then only the second child of a family with modest origins. The small Mediterranean town, which does not even have five thousand inhabitants at the end of the eighteenth century, saw Napoleon, his brothers and sisters grow in his streets. A few years later, they will all be emperors, kings, queens, princes and princesses …

What is left of these illustrious characters today?

The Napolonian heritage of the city of Ajaccio revolves around three museums: the Palais Fesch-Museum of Fine Arts which preserves one of the most beautiful collections of portraits worldwide Empire, the Napoleonic Salon of the Town Hall and, naturally, the National Museum of the Bonaparte House.

The places of memory where the future emperor and his family spent their first years are numerous: the country house of Milelli, the cave of Casone, etc … Moreover, Ajaccio is not only the cradle of the imperial family, it is also the tomb.

Indeed, thanks to Napoleon III, the Napoleonic Ajaccian heritage takes another dimension by the enlargement of the port, the embellishment of the Napoleonic public statuary and especially, the construction of the Imperial Chapel where rest Charles and Letizia Bonaparte and Cardinal Fesch.

  • Everything
Calculate the route
Back to the list Show everything
lectus Sed ut dolor. eleifend Praesent massa velit, libero mattis mi, nec

a2
parata
1/5

Ajaccio

Le 15 août 1769, Napoléon voit le jour à Ajaccio. Celui qui deviendra empereur n’est alors que le second enfant d’une famille aux origines modestes. La petite ville méditerranéenne, qui ne compte même pas cinq mille habitants à la fin du XVIIIe siècle, voit grandir dans ses rues Napoléon, ses frères et ses soeurs. Quelques années plus tard, ils seront tous empereur, rois, reines, princes et princesses…

Que reste-t-il aujourd’hui de ces illustres personnages?

Le patrimoine napoléonien de la ville d’Ajaccio s’articule autour de trois musées : le Palais Fesch-musée des Beaux-arts qui conserve une des plus belles collections mondiales de portraits Empire, le Salon napoléonien de l’Hôtel de Ville et, naturellement, le Musée National de la Maison Bonaparte.

Les lieux de mémoire où le futur empereur et sa famille ont passé leurs premières années sont nombreux : la maison de campagne des Milelli, la grotte du Casone, etc. De plus, Ajaccio n’est pas que le berceau de la famille impériale, elle en est aussi le tombeau.

En effet, grâce à Napoléon III, le patrimoine napoléonien ajaccien prend une autre dimension par l’agrandissement du port, l’embellissement de la statuaire napoléonienne publique et surtout, la construction de la Chapelle impériale où reposent Charles et Letizia Bonaparte ainsi que le cardinal Fesch.

  • Tout
Calculer l'itinéraire
Retour liste Afficher tout
elit. elit. ut in sed venenatis pulvinar Aenean Donec sit lectus